Introducing the peeps

Team science is in preparation!

That’s myself (scientist, writer, traveller, 100% Aussie-grown with a bit of Italian frosting), and my good mate Vikster, who is most definitely the brains of the operation and probably knows the Queen.

We’re just two pale-as doctors of the PhD variety, off on an Ethiopian adventure, hoping to share a little of our educational privilege.

6446_10202217638140344_73805961_n

The science side of it is that we’re both postdocs, and both obsessed with mitochondria (the powerhouse of the cell). I bring a bit of metabolic flare to the mix and Viks brings a lot of knowledge of mitochondrial disease and neuroscience.

I didn’t always harp on about metabolism so obsessively… but after a short-but-sweet adipocyte-centred honours year (one year in a lab, write a thesis, you know the drill) at the University of Sydney, Australia, I was totally hooked. So I moved across town to the shininess of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research to do my PhD in type 2 diabetes, insulin resistance, and obesity.

Fast forward five years and I’m in Italy (I freely admit I chose this job for the close proximity to pizza). I’m a postdoc in one of the top labs of the University of Padua, bringing my metabolism know-how and mixing it together with hardcore mitochondrial research of the calcium-obsessed variety.

Italy is also where I met the Vikster, who was brought into another top mitochondrial lab in the same building. She brings a little English class to the whole establishment.

Together we’ve decided to take 6 months away from the cutthroat ‘publish or perish’ environment of academia and use our massive educations to try to further global scientific research.coffee-549644_1920

Come February 2016, our research lives are gonna be veeery different.

2 thoughts on “Introducing the peeps

Leave a Reply

