The end of the working world as I know it

It’s official.

It’s today.

It’s my last day in the lab. My last day as a run-of-the-mill postdoc just trying to make a difference and do some cool science. It feels so weird to not have a ‘proper’ lab job awaiting me as I leave this one. In this harsh world of ‘publish or perish’, even a short time away from hardcore research is considered a nail in the coffin of your academic career.

But, that’s not gonna deter me from taking this crazy African path that’s ahead.

lab-512503_1920 pixabay
Image from pixabay.com

The nostalgia is ripe these days.

I learnt so much over the years, and I met the most amazing people. I value their friendship, their intellect, and their insanity.

I’ve also met some people that I desperately want to tar and feather, and then attack in one of those foam-covered gladiator arenas. Okay, okay, not just some. A lot. 

Yep, colleagues can be really special sometimes.

I truly love science. I love what I thought it would be. But the reality of it is that it’s not a career for those that just love the sciencing. It’s not just a career for those that have minds like razorblades. It’s a career for those that are willing to play the game. Science is a career full of nepotism and favours, of back-door deals, arrogant A-holes, and sucking up.

And I’m tired.

I’m glad to have a rest, just for a while.

And I’m glad to visit home again. In a week I’m off to Australia, yeeaaa! It’s been almost two years since my last visit.

Australia will be a time to recharge the batteries, and to remember what exactly I loved about science in the first place.

animal-715543_1920 pixabay
‘Just relax, mate’. Image from pixabay.com

And after that? Look out Ethiopia, I’m gonna hit the ground running, with nerdy enthusiasm!

One thought on “The end of the working world as I know it

Leave a Reply

